Desert tortoise

The Desert Tortoise Council was established in 1975 to promote conservation of the desert tortoise in the deserts of the southwestern United States and Mexico. The Council is a non-profit organization comprised of hundreds of professionals and laypersons who share a common concern for desert tortoises in the wild and a commitment to advancing the public’s understanding of the species. For the purposes of the Council, the term "desert tortoise" includes the species complex in the southwestern United States and in Mexico, currently referred to as Gopherus agassizii, Gopherus evgoodei, and Gopherus morafkai.


Announcing the Authorized Biologist Training Course in Primm, Nevada on September 11-14, 2017. Please visit the Desert Tortoise Council's Authorized Biologist Training page for additional course details and a link to the application form.

Announcing the cancellation of the Spring 2017 Health Assessment Training Course: When details are finalized, an announcement will follow if the Course is rescheduled.

Announcing the tentative dates for the 2017 Introductory Tortoise Course: The dates for the next Introductory Tortoise Course are November 4–5, 2017. An announcement will be finalized in June 2017. If you have questions about the next Course, email Maggie Fusari at Introductory Tortoise Course.

Mark your calendars! Dates for the 2018 DTC Symposia are now confirmed: the dates for the 2018 Symposium are February 23-25 at Sam's Town Hotel in Las Vegas, NV.

Desert Tortoise Annotated Bibliography, 1991 - 2015 is now available: The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) has just released the "Desert Tortoise Annotated Bibliography, 1991 - 2015", (Open File Report 2016 - 1023) prepared by Dr. Kristin H. Berry and her team (Lisa M. Lyren, Jeremy S. Mack, L. Arriana Brand, and Dustin Wood). In the summer of 2015, the Desert Tortoise Council funded a grant to the USGS to complete this very important document. Click Annotated Bibliography to view this valuable resource.

Last updated  22-May-2017